Three CCSD School Leaders Receive Prestigious Recognition

The Clark County School District (CCSD) is pleased to recognize three CCSD administrators who have received prestigious recognitions for their hard work in providing rich and rigorous education to our students.

The three CCSD administrators receiving the special distinctions are:

  • Dr. Cailin Ellis, principal of Victoria Fertitta Middle School, was named the 2019-2020 Secondary Principal of the Year by the Nevada Association of Secondary Schools (NASA) and Secondary School’s Principal’s Association of Nevada (SSPAN).

  • Ms. Rebecca Tschinkel, principal of Ruben P. Diaz Elementary School, was named the 2019-2020 Elementary Principal of the Year by the Nevada Elementary School Principals Association (NESPA).

  • Ms. Dina Meyer, assistant principal at E.W. Griffith Elementary School, was named the 2019-2020 Assistant Principal of the Year by NESPA.


“This is a wonderful achievement and I would like to thank our school leaders for their continued contributions,” said CCSD Board of School Trustees President Lola Brooks. “Our community is fortunate to have such great leaders focusing on the academic success and well being of our students. I congratulate them all for receiving this honor.”

“I would like to congratulate these phenomenal administrators for their accomplishments,” said CCSD Superintendent Dr. Jesus F. Jara. “I am proud of their work as they led their school communities through a very challenging academic year. Our school leaders, including Dr. Ellis, Ms. Tschinkel and Ms. Meyer, continued to focus on our students’ success and creatively addressed the challenges,” he added. “I thank them for their extraordinary work.”

Dr. Ellis is the National Distinguished Secondary Principal of the year for Nevada. She serves as principal at Fertitta Middle school and what stood out to the selection committee was Cailin’s positive attitude, innovative ideas, kid-friendly style and theacademic growth her students have shown over the course of her tenure at Fertitta Middle School.

Ms. Tschinkel is the National Distinguished Elementary Principal of the year for Nevada. She currently serves as the principal of Diaz Elementary School. She is a visionary leader who overhauled the school’s climate and culture. She sets high expectations for herself, the staff and the students. She bases all decisions on what is best for the students at Diaz. She is committed to ensuring all students achieve regardless of student group, background and socio-economic status.

Ms. Meyer is the National Outstanding Assistant Principal of the Year for Nevada. She currently serves as the assistant principal at Griffith Elementary School. Her commitment to excellence sets her apart from others. She creates a positive and motivating environment for others. She was essential in helping create and implement a plan to increase Griffith’s achievement. She is deserving of this honor and recognition because of her passion for building relationships, her energy and her leadership.

To learn more about CCSD, visit